A collection of information to assist newcomers to the area, this page offers a guide to amenities, services and some background on Clacton, Frinton, Walton and local villages.
The capital of the Sunshine Coast which boasts over 36 miles of clean sandy beaches along the north east Essex coastline and is also acclaimed as the driest location in England.
Clacton became a popular holiday location with the early Victorians who travelled here by steamboat and the town was built up around the pier, although its name is derived from the ancient village of Great Clacton which is located one mile inland and has now been absorbed into the town borough. The Pier still stands and is now a popular tourist attraction as are the beautiful promenade memorial gardens. There are also a wide range of other recreational facilities including two theatres, a two screen cinema, two golf courses adjacent the town airfield, bowling greens, sports centre with swimming pool and for those night owls there is a fantastic selection of olde worlde and modern themed pubs, restaurants and two nightclubs.
There is an attractive blend of housing with most of the older properties situated around Clacton Town and in the Great Clacton village centre. As Clacton became popular as a retirement location many bungalows were built along the coastline from Holland-on-Sea through to Jaywick. Most of the modern housing which includes starter homes, family properties and more bungalows are located inland at Great Clacton and around Bockings Elm.
With excellent road links Clacton offers ease of travel to London (70 miles), the rest of East Anglia and the Midlands. The prosperous town of Colchester is 15 miles and Harwich, the gateway to Europe through its ferry systems is only 9 miles. Clacton’s mainline railway station connects to London´s Liverpool Street and serves a sizeable commuter population and is also a favourite with day trippers.
Frinton-on-Sea is situated on the east coast and one of the many things it is renowned for is its main shopping thoroughfare. Connaught Avenue, also known as the ‘East Anglia’s Bond Street’
It has many exclusive shops and boutiques. Frinton has a fantastic coastline and a prestigious greensward enjoyed by many the whole year round. Also known for its sporting facilities, there is an eighteen hole golf course, cricket & bowls clubs and the historic tennis club which hosts an exclusive veterans tournament every year that can attract many big name players.
Up until the 1890’s Frinton was a small village comprising of a church, several farms and a handful of cottages. R Powell Cooper who bought out the original developer, Peter Bruff, and laid down the golf course, stipulated the quality of the housing and prohibited boarding houses and pubs. Frinton rapidly developed throughout the 20th Century into the thriving coastal town it is today.
Frinton is on the mainline railway with an approximate journey time of 90 minutes into London’s Liverpool Street Station.
Walton-on-the-Naze is a traditional seaside town with many original Victorian features still evident today.
Walton has a fascinating history, wonderful walks & nature reserves and miles of golden sandy beaches. One of Walton’s most historic features in The Naze Tower which stands 86’ tall and was built as navigational aid for shipping back in the 1720’s. The Tower is under serious threat from coastal erosion and unless the local ‘Save the Naze’ campaign is successful the tower will end up at the bottom of the cliffs within 50 years. Walton also boasts Britain´s second longest pier.
Walton’s modern era dates back to the 1820’s with the opening of ‘The Marine Hotel’. The pier opened in 1830 and attracted steam boats from London & Ipswich. The mainline railway arrived in 1867 from then on Walton-on-the-Naze has not only become a popular seaside tourist destination and desirable place to live.
Great Bently boasts England´s largest village green, which is bounded by many fine homes, two public houses and a church that dates back to Norman times.
The earliest reference to the village is in ‘The Doomsday Book´ although it was originally thought to have been a Saxon settlement and legend suggests there was a large battle with the Danes in the vicinity. There are now two modern housing developments, a variety of local shops, a primary school and mainline railway station in the village, which also offers good road links to the A133 and B1027. One mile South of Great Bentley is the small hamlet of Aingers Green, which is set in serene countryside surroundings.
Kirby Cross remained a hamlet of Kirby-le-Soken until the railway link was established in 1866.
This combined with the good road links to the neighbouring towns has made the village a convenient place to live and therefore contributed to its rapid expansion in recent decades. It is a comparatively new village compared to others in the Tendring area and there is a range of housing to suit all tastes spread over a wide area. Kirby Playing Fields are located in a picturesque setting just north of the village centre on land donated for recreational use by a well known Frinton resident in 1927. Other facilities include a Primary school of Victorian architecture, a selection of traditional shops, a pub, which dates back to the 18th century and a small industrial estate.
During the 19th Century barges and skippers regularly docked at Kirby Quay to supply the area with a variety of materials and due to it´s location near the water there was believed to have been a thriving and well-organised smuggling network in the village.
Recorded in the Doomsday Book of 1087 the “Le-Soken” villages of this area were denoted “Special Powers and Privileges” that allowed them to create their own laws with church approval. At the village centre there is a medieval church and a picturesque green bounded by a row of attractive Georgian houses. There is also a variety of modern housing, a small shop and two public houses.
This tranquil village has been a winner of the ‘Best Kept Village in Essex’ award in recent years.
The uncluttered and mainly family style housing and bungalows can be found scattered around a network of roads and country lanes. Focused around the village centre there is a selection of traditional shops, two public houses, a pretty church which dates back to 1068 and the ëJubilee Oak´, planted to commemorate Queen Victoria´s Jubilee. Other facilities include a primary school, two recreation grounds and a supermarket superstore, which is located just south of the village, where easy access can still be gained to the A133 Trunk Road.
The village that gives it’s name to the Peninsular and District Council is graced with an elegant church which is dedicated to the last King of Independent East Anglia who was martyred by the Danes in the 9th Century.
A blend of cottages and fine homes are scattered over a wide spread area along the main arterial road through the village and in the network of country lanes. There is also a primary school, a general store and two charming public houses/restaurants.
This ancient village derives its name from the daughter of the First Christian King of East Anglia, Princess St. Osytha who founded a Nunnery in the village.
The historic Priory with its magnificent 15th Century gatehouse now stands on the site of the former Nunnery and is a popular tourist attraction. Around the village centre there are many historic buildings and cottages, a selection of traditional shops, olde worlde pubs/restaurants and the parish church, which dates back to the 12th Century. On the outskirts of the village there is a selection of modern housing, a primary school and a sports recreation ground.
A picturesque village with rural traditions and an abundance of historic buildings especially noticeable in the High Street which is lined with many attractive cottages, shops, restaurants and inns dating from various periods over the past few centuries.
The housing is varied and mainly clustered to the North of the village centre where there is a primary school and a high school/sixth form college. Other facilities include a sports recreation ground and mainline railway station located south of the village. Thorpe’s most famous resident was probably Sir William Gull, a royal physician who after his death in 1890 was linked as a suspect in the notorious Jack the Ripper murders. Landermere Quay is situated in a picturesque setting 1.5 miles north of the village centre.
Formerly known as Wilgelea, when like many of the other villages in the Tendring area it was founded as a Saxon settlement.
Considered an important strategic site at the time of the Napoleonic Wars, large barracks were built here to house several Scottish army units. There is some modern housing around the village centre where there are still many ancient buildings including a 17th Century Inn. Other facilities include a primary school, mainline railway station and sports recreation ground located just south of the village. The parish church which still retains its Tudor tower is located in a picturesque setting on Weeley Heath where there is a scattering of rural homes and two public houses.